top of page
IMG_0197.PNG

Our history

Round Table is a club of young men between the ages of 18 and 40 with the aim of promoting the friendly and social life in the respective place of residence and to help people in need through service activities.

Round table is not only local, but also exists nationally and internationally and in this form is spread around the world. Due to the Austria-wide and global existence of this organization, Round Table offers the individual members a national and international network of contacts, which can be helpful both for individual and professional personal development. Round Table differs from other service clubs mainly in the dynamism of the youth, as the age limit of 40 years ensures that the group always has a constant age distribution. Therefore all members are in a phase of the beginning family and social life as well as at the beginning of their career and are characterized by the idealism and commitment of the youth. The organization is neither party-political nor denominational.

Round Table 3 Innsbruck was founded in 1958 and was the third table in Austria after RT1 Vienna and RT2 Linz. Hence the name Round Table 3. We currently have 17 members - also known as "tablers".

The beginnings

The Round Table started with a young Rotarian, Louis Marchesi from Norwich in Central England. 1926 and 1927 were bad times for everyone. The global recession, months of general strikes, crime and violence everywhere you looked, burgeoning fascism and nationalism. As always in such times, the youth suffered from this situation. Unemployment destroyed all hope of recovery.

Photo (c) Des Fulcher

Disorientation in the personal as well as in the social area spread. This Louis Marchesi wanted to point out these great problems of youth in his presentation to his Rotarian friends:

  • There are things we must do,

  • there are things we can do,

  • and there are things we should do.

But he felt that his Rotarian friends did not understand and take him seriously enough. How it happens to young people again and again. But he was also so strong-willed that the refused help did not prevent him from first forming a group of other confectioners and then also members from all social classes and other professions. This "round" was not satisfied with pointing out problems and supporting solutions or even just discussing them. She was ready to act unconventionally and confidently. The aim was to give young men between 18 and 40 years of age perspectives and hope. In 1927 the first round table was founded. Round table derived from the 13th century story of King Arthur and his round table. The Round Table symbol corresponds to that of Winchester Castle (King Arthur's Round Table).

The motto of the Round Table comes from a speech given by the Prince of Wales at the opening of the 1929 World's Fair. He urged young men to integrate tried and tested traditions into their own thinking, to combine them with the present and to adapt them to the respective requirements and, where possible, to improve them in order to then implement this as much as possible in professional and private life and thus contribute to a higher quality of life.
Due to the youth of its members, Round Table is a living, constantly changing organism. Living means learning, adapting and developing. The motto of the Round Table:

ADOPT

Accept good ideas and ideals and learn to live them ...

ADAPT

... adapt these ideas and ideals to his environment ...

IMPROVE

... to continuously develop and improve these ideas and ideals.

The "Tabler of the first hour" not only took these important words as a motto, but also paved the way for the round table. The first implementation of ADOPT - ADAPT - IMPROVE!

The development

As a result, the club was so active in its social projects and educational work that this idea spread very quickly.


In 1935 there were already 100 clubs, and in 1936 the first club on mainland Europe was established in Denmark. During the Second World War, of course, the founding of clubs stagnated, just as this unpleasant time claimed many victims among tablers. But immediately after the end of the war, further construction took place under extremely difficult conditions.


Round Table came to South Africa in 1948, the first table was founded in Germany in 1952, and when Round Table was launched in Austria in 1955 , our country just had to deal with a huge flow of refugees from Hungary. And the tablers around Viktor Straberger did a great job during this time, also with the active cooperation of many foreign tablers.

In 1959 there were round tables in 21 countries. 26,000 members were organized in 1,000 clubs.

 

Today the Round Table is represented on all 5 continents. Over 40,000 members are active in around 60 countries.

bottom of page

RT 2.jpg

Unsere Geschichte

Round Table ist ein Club junger Männer im Alter zwischen 18 und 40 Jahren mit dem Ziel, das freundschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Leben am jeweiligen Wohnort zu fördern und durch Serviceaktivitäten in Not befindlichen Menschen zu helfen.

Round Table ist aber nicht nur lokal, sondern auch national und international existent und in dieser Form weltweit verbreitet. Durch die österreichweite und globale Existenz dieser Organisation bietet Round Table den einzelnen Mitgliedern ein nationales und internationales Netzwerk von Kontakten, das sowohl der individuellen als auch beruflichen Persönlichkeitsbildung hilfreich sein kann. Round Table unterscheidet sich von anderen Serviceclubs vor allem durch die Dynamik der Jugend, da durch die Altersgrenze von 40 Jahren gewährleistet ist, dass die Gruppe immer eine gleichbleibende Altersverteilung hat. Daher sind alle Mitglieder in einer Phase des beginnenden Familien- und Gesellschaftslebens sowie am Anfang ihrer Karriere und zeichnen sich durch den Idealismus und die Einsatzbereitschaft der Jugend aus. Die Organisation ist weder parteipolitisch noch konfessionell orientiert.

Der Round Table 3 Innsbruck wurde bereits im Jahr 1958 gegründet und war nach RT1 Wien und RT2 Linz der dritte Tisch in Österreich. Daher die Bezeichnung Round Table 3. Derzeit zählen wir stolze 17 Mitglieder - auch "Tabler" genannt.

Die Anfänge

Am Anfang von Round Table stand ein junger Rotarier, Louis Marchesi aus Norwich in Mittelengland. 1926 und 1927 war eine schlimme Zeit für alle. Die weltweite Rezession, monatelange Generalstreiks, Kriminalität und Gewalt, wohin man schaute, aufkeimender Faschismus und Nationalismus. Wie immer in solchen Zeiten litt gerade die Jugend unter dieser Situation. Arbeitslosigkeit zerstörte alle Hoffnung auf Besserung.

Photo (c) Des Fulcher

Orientierungslosigkeit im persönlichen sowie im sozialen Bereich griff um sich. Dieser Louis Marchesi wollte bei seinem Vortrag vor seinen Rotarier-Freunden auf diese große Probleme der Jugend hinweisen:

  • There are things we must do,

  • there are things we can do,

  • and there are things we should do.

Er fühlte sich von seinen Rotarier-Freunden aber zu wenig verstanden und ernst genommen. Wie es eben der Jugend immer wieder ergeht. Er war aber auch so willensstark, dass die verweigerte Mithilfe ihn nicht daran hinderte, zuerst eine Gruppe anderer Zuckerbäcker und dann auch Mitglieder aus allen sozialen Schichten und anderen Berufen zu einer Gruppe zu formen. Diese "Runde" begnügte sich nicht damit, Probleme aufzuzeigen und Lösungen zu unterstützen oder sie gar nur zu diskutieren. Sie war bereit, unkonventionell und überzeugt zu handeln. Ziel war es, der männlichen Jugend zwischen 18 und 40 Jahren Perspektiven aufzuzeigen und Hoffnung zu geben. So kam es 1927 zur Gründung des ersten Round Table Tisches. Round Table abgeleitet aus der Geschichte aus dem 13. Jahrhundert von König Arthur und seiner Tafelrunde. Das Symbol von Round Table entspricht jenem aus dem Schloß Winchester (König Arthur's Tafelrunde).

Das Motto von Round Table entstammt einer Rede des Prince of Wales zur Eröffnung der Weltausstellung 1929. Er forderte junge Männer auf, bewährte Traditionen gezielt in das eigene Denken zu integrieren, mit dem Heute zu verbinden und sie den jeweiligen Erfordernissen anzupassen und wo möglich zu verbessern, um diese dann so weit wie möglich im Berufs- und Privatleben umzusetzen und so zu einer höheren Lebensqualität beizutragen.
Round Table ist durch die Jugend seiner Mitglieder ein lebender sich immerwährend verändernder Organismus. Leben heißt lernen, sich anpassen und sich weiterentwickeln. Das Motto von Round Table:

ADOPT

ADAPT

IMPROVE

Diese wichtigen Worte nahmen die "Tabler der ersten Stunde" nicht nur als Leitspruch auf, sondern gaben damit auch den Weg für Round Table vor. Die erste Umsetzung von ADOPT - ADAPT - IMPROVE!

Die Entwicklung

Der Club war in der Folge so sehr aktiv in seinen Sozialprojekten, seiner Aufklärungsarbeit, sodass sich diese Idee sehr rasch verbreitete.


1935 bestanden bereits 100 Clubs, 1936 wurde in Dänemark der erste Club auf dem europäischen Festland etabliert. Während des zweiten Weltkrieges stagnierten natürlich die Clubgründungen, ebenso wie diese unerfreuliche Zeit viele Opfer unter Tablern forderte. Aber sofort nach Kriegsende erfolgte unter schwierigsten Bedingungen der weitere Aufbau.


1948 kam Round Table nach Südafrika, 1952 wurde in Deutschland der erste Tisch gegründet und als 1955 Round Table in Österreich ins Leben gerufen wurde, hatte unser Land gerade einen gewaltigen Flüchtlingsstrom aus Ungarn zu bewältigen. Und die Tabler um Viktor Straberger haben gerade in dieser Zeit großartige Hilfe geleistet, auch mit tatkräftiger Mitarbeit vieler ausländischer Tabler.

1959 gab es Round Table bereits in 21 Ländern. 26.000 Mitglieder waren in 1.000 Clubs organisiert.

Round Table ist heute auf allen 5 Kontinenten vertreten. In rund 60 Ländern sind über 40.000 Mitglieder aktiv.

Werde ein Teil von Round Table Austria!

Haben Sie Interesse, als Sponsor mit uns zu arbeiten oder ein Mitglied unseres Tisches zu werden?

Bleibe immer auf dem neuesten Stand mit den RT3-Nachrichten

Round Table 3 Innsbruck

roundtable3ibk@gmail.com

Klostergasse 6

6020 Innsbruck

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

© 2020 RTA3 Innsbruck. Erstellt mit Wix.com